Modem-Help Forum Index Main Site
Modems
Downloads
Chips, Chipsets
Help [ Old Help ]
SearchAbuseAggregatorEFG
Modem-Help
Dedicated help on Modems
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Home Hub 2.0a: Unlock to use with Other ISPs (sw solution)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Modem-Help Forum Index -> BT
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Alex Kemp
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 5657
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:52 am    Post subject: Home Hub 2.0a: Unlock to use with Other ISPs (sw solution) Reply with quote

If you simply want to be able to use Telnet/FTP/change the user.ini on your HH, but stick with BT, then a less-invasive software-solution is probably best for you. If, however, you want to be able to unlock all the features of the HH and to be able to use it with other ISPs than British Telecom, then read on.

This is the download:
Quote:
Home-Hub-2/A/Non BT-Network Usage/

This download is entirely the work of simonh, who previously worked on the HHv1/1.5. It initially uses a method of root access via the USB port pioneered by surrealiz3. In brief, these are the steps:
  1. Get root access
  2. Get command execution
    (these two steps are identical to those within the USB Root Access download)
  3. Create new partitions, pivot-root to them then un-mount previous disks
    (fully scripted)
  4. Save your existing filesystem
    (not in the existing README - make sure you do it!)
  5. Flash new unlocked filesystem
    (fully scripted)
    (this is the only stage that is invasive)
    (fs files prepared by PsiDOC)

The effort has been made to fully script this, to help avoid mistakes. Although a knowledge of Linux computers will help (the HH is a Linux computer) it is not necessary, as long as you can follow instructions.

The replacement filesystems have been prepared by PsiDOC & previously could only be JTAG-ed in. Changes made to the stock firmware are detailed here.

Simon has also provided some software tools if you want to explore the HH firmware further. This can only be done on Linux/Cygwin, due to the case-sensitivity of the files employed by Thomson. It is a 5-step process:
  1. Un-squash the fs
  2. Un-wrap the Thomson archive
    (provided in this model as a single file)
  3. Make changes
  4. Re-wrap the file collection to a single file
  5. Re-squash to a fs

Bear in mind that it is entirely possible that your changes may cause the router to sieze up. JTAG recommended for backup. If you simply want to examine/play with the files, a full r8.1.F.4 fs is here.
_________________
Alex Kemp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bertieemu



Joined: 07 Nov 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 11:45 am    Post subject: Tried to unlock Thomson TG782T but no luck... Reply with quote

Post spliced into here.

Reason: thread exists for this download in Thomson forum.
Agent: Alex Kemp
Date: Sun, 07 Nov 2010 13:58:20 +0000
Back to top
Send private message
Alex Kemp
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 5657
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:44 pm    Post subject: v1.2 released Reply with quote

I spotted an error in Simon's startpivot script, so have edited it & posted a v1.2 update which incorporates that single change.

This is the edit:

Part of that script contains the following lines:
Code:
echo "    populating  /var/newroot/etc/inittab ...";
echo "::wait:/sbin/unmount" > /var/newroot/etc/inittab &&
echo "::once:/sbin/utelnetd -p 4003 -l /bin/sh -d" > /var/newroot/etc/inittab &&

The script is derived from some update* scripts utilised within the BT firmware, and clearly used as part of firmware updating. I double-checked with the original scripts and, sure enough, the last line above is supposed to be a `>>' (append) and not `>' (add to new file).

Now, I do not have a BT-HH2a to check out this amendment on. Hopefully, I haven't screwed the whole process (it will not cause any destructive effects if so). Someone is sure to inform me if so.
_________________
Alex Kemp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
digiw0rx



Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex, i'm having a slight problem, everytime i try and use startpivot using the . /startpivot command, it won't run? any tips?
Back to top
Send private message
digiw0rx



Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah got the script to run, but unforunately, the unmount script, didnt take into account that my usb drive, may not of mounted as sda1, and i didnt notice until it was to late.
bricked homehub lol
Back to top
Send private message
Alex Kemp
Site Admin


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 5657
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:42 am    Post subject: Cannot believe it is bricked Reply with quote

Hi digiw0rx, welcome to Modem-Help.

digiw0rx wrote:
bricked homehub lol

It might have frozen up, but should NOT have bricked it - no writes are done to firmware at that stage. Just restart the router.
_________________
Alex Kemp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Modem-Help Forum Index -> BT All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2007 phpBB Group